2021 Award-Winning Journalism from Chicago Health and Caregiving

2021 Award-Winning Journalism from Chicago Health and Caregiving

In one of our most exciting years yet, we’re honored to share that Chicago Health and Caregiving magazines have won a host of journalism awards in 2021!

Association of Health Care Journalists

In announcing this prestigious national award, the AHCJ judges said, “Kate Silver opened the door to whole-body donation. Through her multiple in-depth interviews as well as hard work and determination, Kate introduced her readers to an alternative to traditional post-death options that they may not have understood previously. Her research allowed her to present the concept in a very respectful manner, highlighting this practice’s meaning for the deceased, his family, and the health care providers and first responders who benefitted from the donation. Her thorough reportage is an excellent example of how boots-on-the-ground effort helps build an award-winning story.”

Peter Lisagor Awards

The Chicago Headline Club’s Peter Lisagor Awards represent some of the best journalism produced throughout the Chicago region last year — congratulations to these Chicago Health writers!

Illinois Woman’s Press Association

Chicago Health and Caregiving contributors won several first-place awards in the Illinois Woman’s Press Association’s Mate E. Palmer Communications Contest.

National Federation of Press Women

This year’s contest for the National Federation of Press Women included more than 2,000 entries. Contest winners first competed at the state level, and first-place winners in those contests advanced to the national competition.

Our winners for Chicago Health and Caregiving are:

American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons

The American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons honored two of our writers with the Media Orthopaedic Reporting Excellence (MORE) awards. Chicago Health writers Nancy Maes and Valerie Nikolas won both spots in the newspaper/magazine category. Presented annually to journalists in the U.S., the MORE Awards celebrate media’s role in educating patients about musculoskeletal issues, innovative treatments, preventive care, and recovery.

The winning stories were: