Chicago Health Writers and Designers Win 8 Prestigious Awards and Nominations

Chicago Health Writers and Designers Win 8 Prestigious Awards and Nominations

A hearty congratulations goes to Chicago Health writers and designers who have won several recent prestigious journalism awards!

Chicago Health received 5 awards from the Illinois Woman’s Press Association 2020 Mate E. Palmer Communications Contest.


Katie Scarlett Brandt


Katie Scarlett Brandt, Lead’s Dangerous Legacy: With lead lurking in the paint, soil and water, many Chicagoans are at high risk, First Place, Feature Story in a Magazine or Newsletter



Debra Chandler Landis


Debra Chandler Landis, Dangers of Vaping Include Addictive Nicotine, Toxic Chemicals, First Place, Feature Story in an Online Publication



Kelly James


Kelly K. JamesControlling Chronic Pain: A shift in approach delivers a dose of hope, First Place, Writing: Physical Health



Linda Mulholland


Linda Mulholland, Training Cells to Attack: Groundbreaking CAR T-cell therapy engineers cells to target tumors, First Place, Writing: Science or Technology



Erin Sullivan


Erin Sullivan, What Are You Weighting For? A basic strength routine can change your life, Second Place, Page Design, Magazine or Newsletter



Also, the IWPA awarded the staff of Chicago Health Magazine with its Silver Pen Award for the most first-place winners.


We are proud to announce that Chicago Health Senior Designer Andrea Fowler is a finalist for the Chicago Headline Club’s 2019 Peter Lisagor Awards! The Lisagor awards represent some of the best journalism produced throughout the region last year. First-place winners will be announced May 15.


Andrea Fowler Andrea is a finalist for Best Design for Non-Daily Newspaper, Magazine or Newspaper Magazine for her page designs for The Future of Health care cover; The Future of Healthcare story; Pain and Mental Health




Two talented Chicago Health writers are among the 13 national recipients of the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons’ 2020 Media Orthopaedic Reporting Excellence (MORE) Award. The award is presented to U.S.-based journalists for accurate reporting of musculoskeletal health news topics. The entries were judged by a panel of orthopaedic surgeons and evaluated for overall quality and medical accuracy.

The winners are:

Kelly James


Kelly K. James, Controlling Chronic Pain: A shift in approach delivers a dose of hope, Internet




AnneMarie Mannion


Annemarie Mannion, Bioprinting Bones. 3D printing could be the answer to better replacements, Magazine



Please join us in congratulating our talented writers and designers, and check out their award-winning entries!

Eve Becker


Chicago Health

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published.*